Frugal Wintertime

 

  frugal-friday-2-771381-714372-787747-747831

Today is Friday, and it’s time to gather all you thinkers and wise Mamas who make a difference.  My ONLY focus right now is how to keep this old farm house in freezing cold rural Indiana warm & safe for my husband & kiddos (who thankfully aren’t wee ones).  Here are some tips that I have used this winter so far:

*Stay in.  I know, obvious.  But this is NOT the time to go traveling just for the “cabin fever” crazies.  Who wants to get stuck in 10 below weather??  And if you must, if you have one, bring along those cell phones!

*Stay busy.  Make a dream board. Sew. Bake a new recipe.  Pop popcorn and watch that movie.  Write, do, move.  Oh, and for those Mamas who tend to get a little bit down during the darkness….MOVE!!  Set those timers, and move for 20 minutes!!  I have a wonderful walking dvd from Leslie Sansone, which I highly recommend……the kids join me, because their health is important too.  And it warms you up!!  Think summer!!

*All Blankets out.  My couches are hardly recognizable.

*Quilts, tape & plastic.  Most of my windows are covered.  Farm stores (and others) sell wonderful plastic stuff for the windows that you use a hair dryer on, and you can see right through the stuff.

*Boil water.  Adding moisture to air  makes it warmer.  The moisture holds the heat in.  In that water you can throw some cloves and cinnamon too, and awaken your senses!!

*Don’t forget your animals.  They CANNOT stay outside in this without proper protection from wind, wet & cold.

*Close off rooms and vents that you are not using. 

*Close off doors to the house that you aren’t using.  We are now using the back entrance to the house.  We are living in 4 rooms only (half of the house, the kids’ rooms are upstairs, which they are not in right now).  It’s “camping” and fun, and we will survive.

*Keep ceiling fans ON.  They circulate the heat baby!!

*Put on more clothes.  really. An extra pair of socks can make a world of a difference.

Here are some of my favorite links on frugal/voluntarily simple lives that give me inspiration to just live simply!!

The Simple Living Network: tons of articles of interest

Backwoods Home: Love this site!

Stress Less Country:  Lots to dig through on this one, worth the time!

All of these things bless our family & my husband.  He knows that I watch out for our household. 

Proverbs 31:27  She looketh well to the ways of her household, and eateth not the bread of idleness.

I will do anything possible to keep him from having to work overtime or worry while he is gone!!  Check out more wonderful ideas at Biblical Womanhood.

In Joy!

Kelly

3 Comments

  1. Brooke said,

    January 16, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    i have vaulted ceilings, so i know that we’re losing heat. i just don’t know what direction on the fans is “winter”

  2. Kim said,

    January 17, 2009 at 12:10 am

    Brrr! Today I walked through the kitchen and the oven door was open so I inquired of my little one who responded ‘I’m warming the house mama’ 🙂 see, I usually leave it open a crack after I bake (but i hadnt been baking) too funny! K

  3. BarbaraLee said,

    January 17, 2009 at 2:55 am

    Long underwear come in pretty handy too.


Leave a Reply

